sur·ren·der (verb)

As Christians, we hear the word surrender often. I don’t know about you, but when I hear the word surrender, I tend to think white flag, hands waving, maybe even turning your back, but I see a problem with that thinking in my own life. I tend to think of these things as giving up. When things are getting too hard I should just raise my white flag and stop trying to do whatever it is that the Lord was pushing me to do. Could that really be what the Bible is calling us to do? I’ve come to realize that I have been thinking about it all wrong.

The Lord is not calling us to give up, He’s calling us to give up control.

“Woe to those who quarrel with their Maker, those who are nothing but potsherds among the potsherds on the ground. Does the clay say to the potter, ‘What are you making?’ Does your work say, ‘The potter has no hands’?

Isaiah 45:9

Now if you’re like me you have no idea what “potsherds” means so I’ll do you the favor of giving you my interpretation of the dictionary definition…Potsherds are fragments of pottery that are a part of the earth. This verse is literally telling us that we are only pieces of pottery among other pieces of pottery on the earth. That being said, who are we to tell the Maker how to do anything. This verse, to me, exemplifies that the Lord calls us to surrender. It’s easy for us to see how it would be kinda ridiculous for the clay to look up and be all, “Hey, I know you said you’re gonna make me into something great, but can I just give you a few pointers on how to do that?” Somehow, it’s harder for us to see that we do essentially the same thing when we try to keep control over our own lives or the problems we face.

I want to get to the point in my life where I can completely surrender every part of my life to the Lord because I know that it doesn’t make any sense for me, being nothing more than a broken piece of pottery, to try and tell the Lord that I want to do things my way. Do I really want to be a part of anything that isn’t glorifying to God anyway? Please don’t get me wrong, God does not see us as “nothing” or “useless,” He simply calls us to surrender to Him and allow ourselves to be vessels of His will and do the things He is calling us to do. So raise your white flag, wave your hands, or turn your back on the things you are facing but don’t give up, just give control back to the Lord.

One thought on “sur·ren·der (verb)

  1. This is not something most Christians want to hear because we have been programed all our lives to believe that “we are God’s hands and feet” so we search out ways that help us “help God do His work.” This article is “point on” because it helps us realize that God can do His own work but gives us the privilege of Him doing His work thru us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

