Clear the Clouds

It seems so easy these days to focus on everything negative. All the things in our life that are going wrong or all the parts of our lives that aren’t where they should be. Personally, I tend to focus on all the things that I’m not. I pray for a lot of things like patience, wisdom, joy, and sometimes I simply ask for help getting through the day. It’s the little things that keep me down. I tend to focus on the challenges and struggles that are right in front of me.

It’s really easy to look up and only see the dark clouds of all the prayers we don’t think the Lord is hearing. It’s not a good feeling to want to cry out to God, but only be reminded of all the times we cried out before and the results we have yet to see.  But, what happens when we shift our perspective? I tend to think of it as clearing the clouds. What happens when we step back and clear the clouds of doubt? When we look past all of the prayers that seem unanswered and realize that we were once in a tough place, crying out to God for the things we have now.

I distinctly remember literally crying out to God for my mom to get better. She was very sick for many years and for many years I prayed. When the Lord answered my prayers for my mom’s healing, He not only gave me my mom back which I desperately needed and wanted, but He showed me what it looks like to have faith; to know that even when the cloud has grown dark and heavy, the rain will still come and the sun will shine again. As Christians, we are not new to the feeling of unanswered prayers and even if we know that a lot of the times it’s for the best (because the Lord either had something better for us, He was teaching us faithfulness, or we simply didn’t need what we thought we needed), we have to take time to put things in perspective, clear the clouds and realize that the Lord is always there, always listening, and He always wants what’s best for us.

Fear not, for I am with you;

be not dismayed, for I am your God;

I will strengthen you, I will help you,

I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Isaiah 41:10

 Instead of staying constantly focused on unanswered prayers, take time each day to shift focus and realize that there was a time you were praying for all the things you have now.

Leave a Reply

