You are

Isn’t it funny that sometimes the things we hear the most, we have the most trouble believing?

We are God’s beloved. This is one of those things. The word “beloved” appears abundantly in the bible and the majority of the time, it’s used in reference to us as believers being God’s beloved people. So why is it so hard for us to believe that we are loved and that we are His beloved?

  • Sometimes, for me, it comes down to not feeling like I deserve that love. Maybe it’s that I feel like the things I’ve done in the past were too bad or that I’m not as good of a Christian as the people I see at church. Maybe I can’t get over the hurt I carry from the guys that have used me or broken me or maybe I just look in the mirror and feel like there is no way that anyone could love somebody like me.
  • And for me, I struggle with never feeling good enough for anyone and I never have felt like I was enough. I have always been striving to be a better version of myself and I have never been able to reach that person. I cannot move past the feeling of NEVER being enough. I always wonder if I will ever be enough and if that void will ever be filled. I am always trying to do more, be more successful in my endeavors, and never be a letdown all the while, feeling like I should or could be doing more.

Whatever your reason is for not believing the truth that your God loves you, we can guarantee that it pales in comparison to the abounding love that God has for us. The kind of love it took to send His son to the cross to be crucified (John 3:16). The kind of love it took to send His spirit to be with us as we go through life (1 John 4:13). The kind of love that advocates for us (1 John 2:1). The kind of love that is faithful (Psalm 86:15). And the kind that is never ending (Romans 8:38-39).

When we fail to believe we are loved by God, the devil wins. He gains a foothold in our lives and sin is able to manifest in ways that are almost unimaginable. Think about it, if we believe that God not only loves us, but that His love is abundant and unchanging then we wouldn’t feel the need to fill that void in our lives with things that do not come from Him.

We will always be loved by our God. We will always be enough for our God. We are His beloved people and He will never leave His people. As humans, unfortunately, we are used to feeling abandoned. For some of us the pain comes from a parent or another family member. Some of us know that pain because of friends or boyfriends that left us questioning why we weren’t enough. What we have to realize is that God’s love is so many things (1 Corinthians 13:4-8), but His love is NOT conditional (1 Peter 3:9).

It’s not like you are going to read this and think, “Oh. God loves me, I see it now,” but our hope, for this post and our blog as a whole, is to focus more and more everyday on this truth:

God loves you and you are His beloved ones.

Leave a Reply

