We are (wait for it) Legendary

On a sunny day, in July of 1996, a legend was born…

For as long as I can remember my soul’s focus was to be somebody that people cared about, somebody that everyone knew, somebody that was important, somebody…legendary.

I was striving to fit in while trying to maintain my morals and family values. All I wanted was a bunch of people to like me and to care about what I did or to that think what I wore was “trendsetting”. Even though I was not the person I thought everyone would adore, I became so focused on covering up all of the things that didn’t reach the standard other people set. I did not, and still do not, possess a lot of the characteristics that fit other people’s ideals of what made people “cool”. At all.

I am not a size zero or even a size six.

I am not a fashion guru.

I am not the life of the party.

I cannot sing or dance or play the guitar.

I am not always the kindest person.

I never go out and party or sleep around.

I focused on all of these things that I wasn’t and things I couldn’t do or things I wouldn’t do. I thought if I could just be those things, people would like me, and I would have bunches and bunches of friends. To my dismay, I lost sight of the person I was underneath, the amazing person that I was trying so hard, yet failing, to cover and I didn’t gain any new friends. I became a robot; lost somewhere between who I was and the person I wanted to be. Before too long, I didn’t know who I was and I didn’t know what to do about it.

I was trying to be everyone’s perfect person, and forgot how important it was to be my imperfect self. The person God made me to be. I had gotten so lost in all of the things I wasn’t that I forgot all of the things I was, all of the things that made me great, and all the things that made me completely and perfectly imperfect.

I am a hot mess.

I can match my clothes (usually).

I am a leader and I have my life together.

I know how to embarrass myself trying to sing and dance.

I am compassionate.

I know how to have a good time without “having a good time”

So maybe I am not the coolest person around. Or maybe I am and people are too scared to tell me. But I am perfectly imperfect, and that’s okay.

The word legendary is something we all strive to be. We strive to be great, distinguished, popular, and eminent. We want to be honored and celebrated. God created us to strive to be the perfect version of ourselves. We were made in His image, we were made to exalt him in the ways we act and in the ways we think of ourselves.

It is okay to be yourself.  It is okay to not fit in. It is okay to stand out.

We were called to stand up and stand out. We were called to be perfectly imperfect. He is not done with you. He is not done with me. He made us the way we are for a reason.

When we try and cover up the person God has made us to be, it is like covering an artist piece of work at an art show and saying, “wow, now this art show looks a lot better.” How hurtful would that be to that artist?

Don’t be that person. Don’t cover up the piece of art that you are. Don’t hurt your artist. If you were not ready, if you were not good, you would not be put on display.

You may not feel it and I may not feel it, but…

one day we will see. One day we will walk up to the feet of Jesus and we will feel honored and celebrated. Great and distinguished. Popular. Eminent.

We are…

Legendary.

Leave a Reply

